Herne Hill Harriers update May 30-31 2015




Herne Hill Harriers’ Katie Snowden clocked a qualifying time for the European Athletics U23 Championships with a career-best performance over 800 metres.

Snowden’s time of 2.01.77 in winning a BMC Grand Prix meeting at Sportcity in Manchester qualifies her for the event in Tallinn, Estonia, on July 9-12, albeit Katie will still need to finish in the first two or three in the England U23 Champs at Bedford on 21st June to guarantee her place in the GB team.

The 21-year-old, who broke her own club record in the process, elevated herself to sixth in the national senior rankings for 2015, while her time was the fourth fastest recorded by a Surrey female athlete.

Katie was featured recently in Athletics Weekly and is online on the AW website at this link:


Mike Cummings was also racing in Manchester and was close to his personal best as he ran 3.58.75 for 1500m. In other BMC races at Sportcity, four Irish HHH members were representing us, with PBs from Eric Keogh breaking 3.50 for 1500m for the first time clocking 3.48.83, BUCS steeplechase medallist Jay Rossiter running his best 5000m time of 14.20.18, Lee van Haeften producing a decent 14.44.14 for 5000m and Michael Dyer very disappointed with his 1500m performance of 4.01.37.

On Sunday at the Bedford International Games, HHH 400m man Nicholas Atwell made a big breakthrough of his own over 200m, with a wind legal (+0.8 m/s) time of 21.49. Atwell then later won a 400m race in 48.53, while team mate Peter Phillips recorded 48.99 in another of the 400m races and Jessie Knight continued her development at 400m hurdles with a time of 61.78.

Closer to home, Herne Hill athletes represented the club at the latest round of the Southern Men’s League at Mile End. Notable performances included: 16-year-old Kyle Cranston (first in the B-string 100m in 11.22), Lotario Brown (first in the A 200m in 22.87), Jevonni McFarlane (first in the B 20 in 23.09), Isaac Ogunlade (first in the A 400m in 48.80), John Tayleur (second in the A 800m in 2.00.82 and second in the A 3000m steeplechase in 10.08.46), Simon Coombes (second in the A 1500m in 4.12.46) and Rushane Thomas (first in the 110m hurdles in 14.89). Herne Hill also won the 4x100m relay.

In the field events, Tayo Andrews won the high jump with a leap of 1.95m. Christopher Sinclair was second in the A long jump with 6.54m, while Louis Keen was third in the A shot with 12.27m. Other top-three finishers were: Reiss Senior (third in the B shot and second in the A hammer), Garry Power (second in the A discus) and Des Austin (second in the B discus and first in the B hammer).